Nightmares

I wake in the dark of my room, safe.
The flashbacks too real for me to catch my breath.
His hands covering my mouth, covering parts of me he shouldn’t touch.
Tears, screams…
A already bare childhood stolen completely.
And i never let on,
Like anythings wrong.
Remembering their cold stance to my black sheepness.
Bold enough to tell the truths that keep my nights sleepless.
I hate to even write it now
This part of me that wasn’t a choice and haunts me all the time.
He took what was mine
And any trust I had left in life.
Trust.
You must trust yourself to choose those who are trustworthy.
If only you could choose your family.
I laugh bitterly just so I don’t cry.

Leave a Reply

